[Closed] Is Religious Actions Wrong in Video Games?

As a gamer, I always tend to read up on my favorite video games.

One of my favorites, so far this year is, BioShock Infinite. The word, the characters, the music, the game play, and the twisted story line for the game was just… Fantastic.

But can a game really kill you not to play the game for one, I think, minor thing? I found an article on Kotaku this morning about how a gamer thought BioShock crossed the line.

There is a part in the game where you are forced to get Baptized to “wipe away the sins” before you can go into Colombia to save the girl, Elizabeth. Which in fact is the main point of the game, “Save the Girl, Wipe away the Debt.”

One gamer thought this was too much. Which I find extreme bullshit because mindless killing isn’t bad at all but forced baptism are horrible…  The gamer known as Malmberg sent a letter to Valve:

“I wish to return/exchange this game (Bioshock Infinite) for steam credit or refund on the grounds that I cannot play it.

I cannot play it because at the very beginning of the game there is a section of the game that is so offensive to my religious beliefs that I cannot proceed with it any further. I did not know this section of the game was there and had no way of knowing it was there before-hand as it was not shown in any trailers, previews, screenshots or other marketing material.

The player is forced to make a choice which amounts to extreme blasphemy in my religion (Christianity) in order to proceed any further – and am therefor forced (in good conscience) to quit playing and not able to experience approx. 99% of the content in the game.

There is no option to turn this particular content off or to bypass or skip it in any way. In Modern Warfare 2, they at least allowed you to skip a particularly offensive level (http://www.destructoid.com/modern-warfare…). This is the same sort of thing for me, but there is no way to skip it in this case.

Please issue a full refund or store credit in the amount of the price of the game (Bioshock Infinite) as I had no idea that I would not be able to play this game before I bought it.

If you need further convincing, I will use the analogy that if you were a muslem, it would be like forcing the player into an in-game action of “press x to spit on the face of allah” in order to proceed any further with the game and with no choice or way around doing so.

I apologize for the potentially misleading choice of category for this request, but you do not have a category I can choose that accurately fits my needs.

Thank you”

Really? One tiny little thing made you want to get a full refund on the game? If you enjoyed the other BioShocks then you would understand there are some crazy shit already afoot. Like splicing yourself to get magical powers, smoking cigs, getting drunk, having the choice to kill little girls, etc. Alright, you can pull the religion card… But are you the only who is seriously going to make a big deal of a little water (or drowning in the case of Infinite) to wash away your sins so you can enter the gates of Colombia? Then think that all the horrible killings that you do is not the work of the devil either…

I don’t know. I just call the bullshit card for a guy that wants attention.

What do you think. This is up for post is up for discussion, so comment away!

8 thoughts on “[Closed] Is Religious Actions Wrong in Video Games?

  1. I believe that we experienced a case of someone becoming offended just because he can. BioShock infinite was one of the most successful games this decade, and in order to see games as an art form we can’t be afraid to push boundaries. The baptism scene was intended to make the player think, and question what exactly is going on. Games like these are not designed for people who become offended when they can’t “skip” important story elements.

  2. As I understood it, Colombia was in a sense, heaven, for the people. A place where there is no sin and in order to get into there you need to be baptized to get in. I, being a Catholic, myself I didn’t feel that the baptism offending because I understood what the writers was getting at. If people are offended on how a writer explains his or her story, I just don’t understand why people have to be so… ‘Hardened’ to how the story is explained… :/

  3. some games may have some religious something or other in it. some stand out like a naked person in a crowd and some hidden message. It is a was for the game to keep the storyline on how it was written. sure being forced seems wrong to me i rather have a option but if that is how the storyline rolls then let it. if you are offended then do not play the game or pretend it is not there. it is the love of the game not what random shiz is in it.

  4. Quite frankly, I don’t know what to say about the game because I’ve never played any games from the Bioshock series, but I heard it has received much praise. As for the the customer, I don’t believe he should refund the game over something like the ”violent” baptism. I’m going to go by others’ opinions, but from what I see the game is extremely entertaining. This particular scene, I don’t think, should be something to tie into with your religion, even if it relates to it. Honestly, if this customer was offended by this scene, what games DOES he play? Tetris? Pac-man? Jewels? If he was tied in with his religion so well, how does something like this baptism come even close to phasing him with all the guns and the killing and the bam, boom, bibbidy BOP in a majority of modern games? I believe his reason is invalid considering this is indeed an FPS which involves killing, easily identifiable as a sin in Christianity. Unless his views of Christianity say that killing are okay, then his whole argument makes absolutely no sense to me. Someone feel free to clarify for me if I’m not right on the money.

  5. Offended over that in this game is so wdf.
    Like come on, in my opinion for me as a Christian i dont get bothered by religious actions/references in games.It was put there for the story of said game.Its almost like you feel insecured about your own religion to get all worked up on something so trivial.So yea, its not wrong in my opinion especially being this mild.

  6. For one I as a christian think that it is stupid that a lot of people talk shit about the bible and how it’s bad and blah blah freakin blah, we get it you don’t like it now as long as I don’t post religious stuff on how great God is and all that then people shouldn’t post anti-religious stuff either. Off that topic and onto this stupid idiot who actual got offended for a maybe 5 to 10 sec scene in one of the best games I’ve played, is complete nonsense, why did he even have to bring religion in on it, yeah there is religion in the game but it’s a made up religion worshipping the founding fathers, Who freakin cares about a made up religion that borrowed one thing from another religion that was put into a game? Nobody except this guy with no life wanting to get attention. I

  7. I don’t think video games should be subject to judgement due to religious content.
    It’s up to the game developers to use it to project what they were trying to get across.. Similar to an artist featuring a crucifix in his painting.

Leave a Reply

