EA for once you did something good!

From hearing news yesterday, I found out EA is suing Zynga for Copyright Infringement. I wish this was seriously done a lot earlier because just looking at their games on Facebook, you can see an uncanny similarity to many other popular games. I mean I still think FarmVille was a rip off of Harvest Moon.

                                                 
The look of FarmVille and the look of Harvest Moon for the 3DS.


If you like to read complaint, I have to admit… It is long! You can find it here: “EA v Zynga Complaint Final“.
Many of the complaints are as follows:
  • On line 2 of page 2, “Steal someone else’s game. Change its name.”
  • On lines 7-11 of page 2, “Not only does The Ville blatantly mimic the entire framework and style of gameplayin The Sims Social, but it so closely copies the original, creative expression and unique elements of The Sims Social — i.e. , the animation sequences, visual arrangements, characters’ motions andactions, and other unique audio-visual elements — that the two games are nearly indistinguishable.”
Lovely. For people who doesn’t understand the United States law about Copyright Infringement, here you go: http://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap5.html. It goes into detail and can explain it a lot better than I can.
While I was doing more research on this topic, I found from Joystiq and IGN some pictures and videos that show the uncanny similarities. 
The following is from the Joystiq article:” Highlights from EA’s lawsuit against Zynga“.
Next is videos that I found from IGN’s article about the topic: “EA Sues Zynga for Copyright Infringement
No doubt they look almost exactly the same. Which isn’t looking to good for Zynga… I personally have to say, I do not like Zynga. From all those annoying requests asking me to help them on their stupid farm or city or whatever weird game that they are playing (which I think is also copied from someone else) to my newsfeed being clogged up from people posting how they got a load of new stuff from their game. It is because of them, I had to unfriend a crap load of people off my personal facebook. It got way too annoying for me. This is before the time you could hide/unfollow posts.
Leave a Reply

